The Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL) for Years 11 and 12 is a recognised senior qualification. VCAL focuses on hands on learning. Students who do the VCAL are more likely to be interested in going on to training at TAFE, doing an apprenticeship, or getting a job after completing Year 12. Students who participate in the Croxton VCAL program are generally aged between 16 and 18 years and have been assessed as eligible for Special School enrolment.

The four compulsory strands are:

  • Literacy and numeracy skills
  • Work Related skills
  • Industry Specific skills
  • Personal Development skills

 The VCAL has three award levels:

  • Foundation
  • Intermediate
  • Senior

Croxton School only offers VCAL Foundation and is generally delivered over two years. VCAL’s flexibility enables students to design a study program that suits their interests and learning needs. Students can select accredited Vocational Education and Training (VET) modules and units.

Some programs within the four VCAL strands include:

Literacy and Numeracy:

  • Foundation VCAL Literacy and Numeracy learning outcomes
  • Budgeting program
  • SYN Radio

Personal Development Skills:

  • VCAL Personal Dev. Units 1 and 2
  • Driver Education
  • Sex Education/ Parenting program
  • Advance Program Life saving
  • CPR & 1st Aid Training
  • Barista Training
  • Out and about program
  • Cafe
  • Health/Wellbeing
  • Fitness

Work Related Skills:

Vocational Education and Training:

  • Certificate II in Hospitality
  • Certificate II in Horticulture
  • Certificate III in Transport & Logistics (warehousing)
  • Certificate II in Hairdressing
  • Kangan TAFE BWE VET electives